Wk 12 – Art Experience – Ethnography


What did you think the experience would be like?

I knew that it was already going to be difficult because electricity and mobile devices are what we use every day. I knew that the experience would consist of fighting off the urge of picking up my phone to browse through social media.

Was it “easy” or “hard”?

It was difficult because I usually use my laptop for homework and my mobile device for social media.

“Frustrating” or “Liberating”?

It was frustrating because I had to avoid my phone/laptop, and that was my main source of communication with my peers. It was hard not knowing whether or not someone was trying to contact me.

Did you get better sleep? Are you usually sleep deprived? What would it be like to sleep well every night?

I got better sleep! I am usually sleep deprived because I am always on my phone before I go to sleep. It allowed me to not touch my phone and fall asleep peacefully. I think that it would be very beneficial because sleep is the most important factor in our lives. Better sleep will lead to better energy and grade

How is living without electricity more organic or harmonious with nature?

I think that living without electricity is more harmonious with nature because without electricity, I believe that you appreciate nature more.

How is living without electricity more limited? Is it boring?

Our everyday lives consist of electricity, whether it is mobile devices or lights in the house. Living without electricity is extremely limited to what you’re able to do when the sun sets. I believe that it is very boring too, because I am a person that is on my laptop and phone a lot.

How do you think people survived without constant stimulation?

I think that they learned and forced themselves to think of other ways to be able to survive nights without using electricity, such as using candles.

What would be your ideal level of life activity and connectivity?

I think that while I have my mobile device, I should focus on enjoying nature a bit more than just focusing on a tiny screen. I think my ideal life would always consist of regular electricity instead of other alternative options such as candles. I feel like I should connect to nature more. For example, I think hiking is a good option because it allows you to exercise and appreciate nature.

Leave a Reply

